Our Guide to Bootstrapping Your Business in 2023 |

Mar 14, 2023

There are several possible ways to conduct business. Each one is best. If you're one of the entrepreneurs who have the ability to create a profitable business then congratulations - however it is you manage it.

But there's one way of developing a business that's gained a lot of attention that is bootstrapping. At Mighty we are a big fan of bootstrapping, probably because we've watched creators start with a few enthusiastic members, and then grow to prosperous, successful companies that make between 5 and 6 figures each month.


The process of bootstrapping offers many advantages and is a great way to increase profit. In this post, we're going to introduce you to the concept of bootstrapping. We'll discuss what it is and isn't, and talk through the basics you should know to get started with starting your own business with bootstrapping.


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What is bootstrapping in your business?


Bootstrapping means building a business that is profitable without requiring external funds. Today, in the startup market, it's common for entrepreneurs to receive rounds of financing from venture capitalists as well as investors.


Bootstrappers do not take any outside cash, usually they focus on keeping a low overhead and earning money quickly, in order to not need to seek this type of money.


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Advantages of bootstrapping a company


 

  • Ownership. When you take outside funding or venture capital and you surrender the ownership. This can make sense in certain circumstances, in order for instance, to start a business from in the beginning, especially when the business needs money. However, the more stakeholders you have at the board, the more of them you must answer to. If you've got a company that is able to be bootstrapped generally, you will be able to keep all the ownership.    
  • Control. Control. We've only said it, but bootstrapping also allows you to the ability to control. It allows you to make choices that are not subject to external influences.    
  • Profitability. Bootstrapping is about creating a product that is profitable as soon as it is feasible. It's a great way to build a business. If it fails, it fails fast. Many founders will take massive amounts of capital from investors, and then go on for years before realizing a venture isn't going anywhere.    


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Disadvantages of bootstrapping


 

  • There's less capital. It's obvious that if do not have investors from outside or investors, you may not have the funds to get your business off the starting line. Certain founders turn to debt, which has it's place but you're on the hook to pay for it.    
  • A little less knowledge. The ideal approach to taking investment money isn't simply the act of losing the ability to control. You get the voice from experience, recommendations and connections. This can be really beneficial. This is why founders are to Dragon's Den (well... as well as the exposure to TV ).    
  • A shorter timeframe. It is essential to get a business up to profitability as quickly as possible. Or, you're doing another job in order to have the roof on your head while you build your own business.    


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Bootstrapping examples in the business


These are some of the companies you see every day but likely didn't know that were boot-strapped!


 

  • Apple: Founded by the Steves, Jobs and Wozniak, Apple started in Steve Jobs' garage in 1976 with a mission to make personal computers accessible to everyone.      
  • Meta -: Facebook had to be bootstrapped before it was able to file for IPO 1 January 2012 - looking for $5 Billion.    
  • Atlassian is a company that was founded by Australia by two founding partners who each had an account with a credit limit of $10,000.    
  • KFC: Harland Sanders started frying chicken for his roadside café using a secret receipt of eleven spices and 11 herbs. Then he began franchising (and dress like a historical colonel ).    
  • Plenty of Fish : An online dating website that was launched as a free app created by Markus Frind and sold to Match for $575 million.      


Examples of Bootstrapping on Mighty


 

  • Yoga with Adriene  began with a YouTube channel by Adriene Mishler. The movement was able to grow to over 10 million users and morphed into two successful Yoga apps and a community of 220,000 users.      
  • Wealth Builders Community : Created by Ashley Fox, the movement provides financial advice to the 99percent of individuals Wall Street won't talk to It made more than $100,000 within the initial two weeks.      
  • Code Red : A 10 million dollar nutrition and weight loss company founded in the name of Cristy "Code Red" Nickel.      


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A guide to beginning your own company


1. Concentrate on the Ideal Client


The most common place where bootstrapping is starting is through an Ideal Client or avatar (similar to the concept of an ideal member for people creating a community). This is especially true in the creation economy.


It typically boils back to


 

  • Who would be your ideal client?        
  • What problem do they face?        
  • What is your service or product solve the problem for them?        


It's not the most current and for the creators it's hard to match the idea Kevin Kelly wrote about in his memoir, "1000 true fans. "


Instead of selling millions of things, focus on the thousand genuine supporters. Build a profitable business from them. It's a great guideline to create a creator-based B2C service.


If you're targeting 1000 or millions of users in the future, you must have an idea of who they are prior to launching your service or product that will be able to add value.


2. The revenue from day one


One of the key things that will make bootstrapping successful is going to be fast revenues. It doesn't have to be true for every situation However, the longer it takes to reach revenue, the more the slog as the creator.


Consider ways to increase revenue speedily. One thing that we've seen that works really well in various business models, both in the community and on courses, is pre-selling. The process of pre-selling could help you earn the point of making money before even building an item, and could be the best way to test a product.


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MVP


If you're watching sports like baseball or football MVP is a term that means something completely distinct.


In the world of business, MVP stands for a minimum-viable product. It's not difficult to become an perfectionist and focus on ensuring that everything is perfect before you release something to the general public. Some founders and entrepreneurs take long to finish their work.


Enter... a minimum viable product.


The phrase was invented in the late 1980s by Eric Reis, who developed the lean startup methods. Minimum-viable products are the simplest product that you can ship. Instead of worrying about making sure everything goes right make a simple product so that you can earn a profit.


In bootstrapped enterprises, minimal viable products are an essential aspect of making money. When you're bootstrapping, you don't have the luxury of creating everything flawlessly. Get some income and adapt and learn as you go.


4. One great funnel


There are many options to market products. And established companies might create multi-tiered funnels that bring in customers from advertising such as organic search or social media, word of mouth, and who knows what else.


If you're doing trying to bootstrap, it's best to focus on one funnel. Concentrate on one area that is working.


As an example, say you discover that advertising for your webinar through Facebook works great. It brings you qualified leads.


Say you have to spend $200 in advertising to get 40 qualified leads. If you assume that 24 percent of them will make a purchase. That's pretty typical conversion rate.


That means there will be a couple of people who purchase. We'll say two. If you spend $200 in order to acquire two customers, your price of acquisition per customer is therefore $100.


 

  • Cost per lead (200/40 = $5 per lead)        
  • Cost per acquisition ($200/2 = $100 per customer)        


You must earn $100 in revenue out of the two customers in order to break even.


The creation of a funnel for sales is an tried and tested way to build a business, and if you have the right numbers, you can be super successful. Imagine that our funnel above led to people signing up for a monthly subscription at $50, and the typical customer stays with the company for 12 months. The lifetime value for a customer is $600.


You've spent $200 for these two clients, who are worth $1,200 to your company.


Is that worth it?


If you're offering an online course that has minimal overheads, this would be an easy decision. If your business is focused on products, with costs like staff, shipping, inventory, etc. It is essential to look at the numbers to determine if these numbers make sense.


However, the best thing about a good funnel is that it is relatively solid. It takes time to develop your baseline numbers. At the end of the day, you'll be confident that if you put $1,000 into your advertising and you receive $6,000 from it.


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5. Low overhead


This leads us to the next secret of great bootstrapping Low overhead.


If you wanted to open an eatery. It's going to be a challenge to bootstrap it. It would require equipment as well as inventory, space, permits, and possibly employees. You're looking at spending many thousands before you bring in one cent.


On the other hand suppose you're offering the course in a group. If you choose a great system (like Mighty! ) You will pay a minimum monthly cost which would cover virtually everything you need to run the business. It would provide you with a fantastic platform with the option to customize it to your needs, and a point of sale.


Cost of the cohort course will be very low. With a low overhead, bootstrapping is much easier.


6. Recurring revenue


This isn't a must for every business, but it's something to think about. If you're in the process of bootstrapping your firm, having recurring income is a big increase.


Recurring revenue basically means that customers pay you each month. Your Netflix membership or gym membership generates regular revenue for these businesses.


Imagine that you start the business of consulting. In general, you could complete a task for the client, and you charge for it. So far so good. Then, you'll need to look for a different customer.


The best thing about companies that generate recurring income is that you tend to maintain your customers. For example When we watch the creation of communities on Mighty most of them keep their members for years.


Some businesses gain customers and then need monthly new customers. But recurring revenue businesses have customers who are loyal, and they keep them, then include more customers into their pool of customers. If you have a relatively low churn rate, it's a great option to begin to build a bootstrap.


7. Many offers available for every Ideal Member


One of the contradictions in business is that, often, your greatest customers are customers who already bought from you. If someone has bought something, and are pleased with it and are happy with it, they're likely to purchase from you in the future.


Many business owners forget this. They believe "Oh, I already have sold that product to this particular person. "


And they miss one of their greatest income sources: customers who are already there.


Discover ways of offering your customers who are already there additional value. It's what we like to call the value ladder. Chances are, you will have customers who need more.


sales funnels - value ladder


Let's take an example. For instance, suppose you are offering an online community member program based on career mastery. The community has 100 satisfied members of your community. It's simpler to offer them something else than to look for 100 members.


What about a career mastermind or a dedicated course? What about coaching one-on-one only for a small group of people?


Making offers available to your existing customers is just smart.


8. Make an investment in scaling


Not least of all, the key to successfully bootstrapping a business, put the money towards the scaling. This could mean investing in advertising or further developing your product. You could also consider hiring certain talents to make your life easier.


It's not just about receiving a little cash every month. It's about growing a business into a profitable and valuable business without taking any investor funds.


If you are growing, take a look at the ways you can increase your revenue and impact.


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Bootstrapping Checklist


 

  • Focus on an ideal client        
  • Get revenue ASAP        
  • Develop a minimum viable product (or offer)        
  • Make a great funnel        
  • Keep your overhead low        
  • Try to generate recurring income (if suitable)        
  • Offer multiple deals to your clients        
  • Insist on scaling        


Ready to get started?





If you're looking to begin bootstrapping your business, come build with Mighty! is a software platform that is cultural that brings together community as well as courses, content as well as commerce. Our flexible Spaces lets you mix in discussions, live events, live streaming, profile profiles for members, chat and messaging, and more.


It is possible to sell your products with 135 currencies and you can even earn money with token-gating. And we've got a great app for every device, or we'll partner together to create an app that is white-label using Mighty Pro.


A lot among our Mighty hosts have created successful businesses with six or seven figures, working from their homes to earn amazing annual profits. Businesses that are built upon Mighty check all of the boxes listed above.


If you want to get motivated, browse our case studies, and learn how some of the most successful business owners have built upon Mighty. If you're looking to begin, take a trial for 14 days, without credit card needed.